From the Patch Files: Undefeated Panthers

This was, for many reasons, my favorite sports video to produce — I’d already covered back-to-back state championships for the Johnston High School baseball squad, reported on the Johnston-North Providence Cougars 2012 D-III title, and followed the varsity girls’ basketball team to the state tournament, but getting the chance to put together a piece for the football team was especially fun.

It was also meaningful, since I’m a JHS alum [Class of ’89], and my work was also a way to promote Homecoming, which is always a huge deal for Johnston.

Thanks to a public domain agreement between AOL/Patch and Warner-Chappell Production Music, I was able to find the perfect soundtrack to the football highlights and Coach Joe Acciardo’s interview.

After the video was published, one parent contacted me by email and thanked me for “a video that should be on ESPN.”

Postscript: The Panthers eventually finished the season undefeated, only to fall in the playoffs.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.